getting old. seriously, cereal-ly.

Well we didn’t make it to the ruins this weekend on our adventure. We vowed that we would go if we got up and on the road by 8am. And those of you that know me know exactly why this plan didn’t work. A bottle of wine while making these plans meant that I slept til 9ish instead. Oops. So we quenched our adventure bone with a scenic drive down to the Carrollton, AL “haunted” courthouse. And yes, we did see the face in the window! Here’s the story behind the face:

Story of the face

Story of the face

The story that I was told (pre-visit to see the face) was that Wells was held in the garret (very top room) of the building because the jail house was full on that particular night. I was also told that the lightning strike killed Wells and his face is forever etched in the window by his “ghost” to prove his innocence.

Not sure about the validity of any of it, but there is definitely something weird in that window. The glass has been replaced several times under the witness of very public audiences, but the face continues to re-appear. I didn’t get a picture but I found one that looks just like what I saw with my own eyes. (It’s hard to miss thanks to the arrow sign that someone has hung on the old building.) No one is allowed in the courthouse currently because it is under renovation.

The face! Ahhh!

The face! Ahhh!

We also did some research on other haunted attractions in the area and learned of a very scary “3-Legged Lady Road” in Columbus. Legend has it that if you “entice” her, a lady with three legs will come running at your car and the goal is to beat her across the bridge at the end of the road. She will beat on your car and try to run you off the road, where she will then kill you. Some people have even reported dents in their vehicles after the happening. We decided that if a lady ran at us, we would have to run her over- which could have bad results if it turned out to not be the 3-legged lady- so we opted out of that particular “ghost hunt.”

Yesterday, the entire day was devoted to trying to make a house a home. Hanging pictures, assembling closet fixtures, folding and re-folding clothes, finding a spot for everything, and even a little carpentry work were the main honey-do’s that were crossed off at the end of the day- right before ordering take out and crashing in front of the TV. I’m pretty sure this is what getting old feels like…

And finally, we meet Monday again. This Monday welcomed me with a sore back and no coffee left in the pot by the time I made it in to work. Geeze. Fortunately, I received my birthday month discount card from Anthropologie in the mail, easing the pain a little bit. I also ran across this bible verse that reminded me of my sweet sorority sisters and our amazing  values that we continuously strive for…meaning that no matter how stinky my day starts off, I should always keep my thoughts on God and how He wants me to react:

1 Peter 3:10-12 “For whoever would LOVE LIFE and see GOOD DAYS must keep his tongue from evil and his lips from deceitful speech. He must turn from evil and do good; he must SEEK PEACE and PURSUE it. For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous and His ears are attentive to their prayer, but the face of the Lord is against those who do evil.

And in case you need a laugh, here’s a few that might do the trick:

Morning People...ehh

Morning People…ehh

Chemistry jokes get me every time...

Chemistry jokes get me every time…

woudn't it...?

woudn’t it…?

Happy Monday! Don’t let a bad moment make a bad day, or a bad day make a bad week.

Love always,

Addie

“If each day is a gift, I’d like to know where I can return Mondays.” -Unknown

pretend it’s Friday. mostly because it’s Monday, again.

I wrote this last Friday with every intention of posting it…until I looked at the clock and realized that I only had time to hit “save” before rushing out the door and making it to my haircut a few minutes late.

Today is a good day. I woke up unusually happy, had an amazing cup of coffee, our office still smells like crawfish from the grower meeting/appreciation dinner last night, and I just got a free pork loin- the whole loin, like the entire length of a grown, huge pig! (Not sure what I’m going to do with it all, but hey, free food!) Oh and I’m wearing my henna-elephant-looking shirt with pink pants. Sounds ugly…and it might be, but it makes me smile. I feel like this is a good weekend to go on an adventure. Not sure exactly what and where, but it just feels like one of those “kill a Saturday without actually killing anything” kind of weekends. I’m excited though I don’t know why…Fortunately, Mamie is on her way here now and is a great partner in crime for trips/adventures/weird stuff. We will probably end up in a strange hole-in-the-wall coffee shop instead because we are old ladies in 20-something bodies, but either way, we will have a time!

Here is one of the places that I want to go to soon…maybe not this weekend since it’s several hours away and Mamie is already driving 4 hours just to get here:

 

The Windsor Ruins

The Windsor Ruins

Windsor Ruins are the columns left standing from a huge mansion that was constructed near Port Gibson, MS in 1861. Though it’s said that the mansion never reached completion, it housed both Confederate and Union soldiers during the war. After the war it was used for large parties and was burned down in 1890 when a guest’s careless cigar was dropped. The mansion housed over 25 rooms, each with their own fire place, and a 4th floor that held an observatory room that overlooked the plantation and river. It cost the family around $175,000 to build, which is nearly $4.5 million today. After the house burned, the family donated the ruins to the state and it is now on the National Historic Register. There are still bricks left in the rubble pile that are good for the taking, so I’m told. (So of course, I want one.)

Speaking of history, I will be the first to tell you that I love school. I know, it’s weird. Most people can’t wait to get out of school and get to college, and then get out of college and get a real job. (Though most want to go back to college as soon as the real world sinks in.) I thought that it was just the college lifestyle that I have been missing so much, but as it turns out, it’s the classes. I came to this realization after the ridiculous amount excitement that struck me when I discovered that the W (Mississippi University for Women- though it’s open for men now too) is offering life enrichment classes. I could go back to college except for the fact that I’m broke and will be paying off student loans forever as it is, and I don’t feel like writing a dissertation to get another degree. But enrichment classes are in my price range! I missed the deadline for the spring semester classes so I’m crossing my fingers that they offer them again in the summer. If not, I’ll be anxiously awaiting fall!

There’s your fun and fashion (my outfit) for today.

Has anyone else seen the knock-off Girl Scout cookies that are being sold in grocery stores everywhere?! Coming from a lifetime-member of the Girl Scouts, I am personally offended that someone else is ripping off our specialty. On the other hand, I’m excited that I can now get them year round!

And speaking of grocery store finds, check out this giant can of tuna that we found! I didn’t even know they sold these in regular stores. I figured you’d have to order a can this size!

 

Biggest Tuna Can Ever...and a lovely model :)

Biggest Tuna Can Ever…and a lovely model 🙂

And there’s your food from Wednesday that I missed….

Happy 2nd birthday to the baby girl who showed us all the God still works miracles. From 14 ounces at 4 months premature, to 17 whopping pounds, she has come a long way. She couldn’t open her eyes when she first got here, but as she learned to open hers, she taught us to open our own as well. I love you so much baby Henley, and can’t wait to watch you grown into an amazing and beautiful woman just like your momma!

Wishing everyone an adventurous weekend. Only one week until Gin Show and 5 days until I try to convince Alex to take me to the Josh Abbot concert in Starkvegas. Get excited!

Also, go read Gone Girl if you like suspense stories. It was weird, but I liked it.

Love always,

Addie

“You know when they have a fishing show on TV? They catch the fish and then they let it go. They don’t want to eat the fish, they just want to make it late for something.”- Mitch Hedberg